At BeautyAnswered, we're committed to delivering accurate, trustworthy information. Our expert-authored content is rigorously fact-checked and sourced from credible authorities. Discover how we uphold the highest standards in providing you with reliable knowledge.
Halal makeup is makeup considered acceptable for use by Muslims under Islamic law. Many non-Muslims also use halal makeup, however, because it is considered ecofriendly, doesn't use any harsh chemicals or unnatural substances, and involves the ethical treatment of animals. While some makeup lines are marketed as halal, many vegan and organic lines also fall under this category. One of the most popular forms of makeup considered halal is all-natural mineral makeup. Mineral makeup can come in various different forms, including liquid, loose powder, and pressed powder.
According to Islam, halal products are considered acceptable and haram products are unacceptable. In order for makeup to be considered halal and not haram, it must not contain any ingredients forbidden by Islamic law. This typically means halal makeup products cannot contain alcohol, pork, pork byproducts, or any byproducts of other animals not slaughtered according to Islamic tradition. As long as the makeup adheres to these basic rules, it is considered halal and acceptable for Muslims to use. Many commercial lines of makeup are considered haram because they contain alcohol and pork byproducts, such as porcine.
The most common type of halal makeup available is mineral makeup. Mineral makeup is made of all-natural crushed minerals. They contain no animal products, no harsh or unnatural chemicals, and no known potential hazards, such as bismuth oxychloride or parabens. Many mineral makeup brands are certified halal through organizations such as the Australian Federation of Islamic Councils and the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America. While makeup doesn't need to be certified to be considered halal, the certification adds a guarantee that the product is what it says it is.
Many different vegan lines are also considered to be halal makeup. Since vegan makeup doesn't use any animal products, as long as alcohol isn't listed as one of the ingredients, it's a safe bet that it's halal. Of course, having a cruelty-free certification and a halal certification also helps. For other types of makeup that aren't marketed as pure mineral or vegan, it's often difficult to determine if they are halal, as many of the ingredients derived from animals are listed under alternative names. For example, collagen and hyaluronic acid are often derived from pig placentas, stearic acid is derived from fats found in pig stomachs, and keratin is derived from the hooves, hair, or nails of animals.